Champions of Kabaddi World Cups

Kabaddi is a two-team game. In this game, two teams played against each other. There are seven players on every team. The game lasts for 40 minutes. After the 20 minutes game, there is a 5-minute break before the second part of the game. The game became popular holding the hand of India. Not only that Indian men and women kabaddi team players became champions in various international games.

The Ranking scenario of IKF

The International Kabaddi federation ranked 10 countries over the world based on the scoring points. If we see the score point of the countries, it can be said that out of 10 countries, 9 countries are from the Asian continent. Only the remaining one, Kenya, is from the African continent.

As per the ranking, India got the top position leaving behind the remaining 9 countries. The score of India is 7127.6and the scoring point of 5674.4 and Pakistan got 4235.04. The lowest scorer country is Indonesia. The score of that country is 681.62. It is seen that Asian countries acquire the highest supremacy in the field of Kabaddi.

About the Kabaddi World Cup (2004-2020)

The Kabaddi World Cup is an international competition which is organized by the International Kabaddi Federation. At first, in 2004, the Kabaddi World Cup was established. India became the winner by defeating Iran. Mumbai was the host of that tournament.

12 countries participated in the 1st world cup. Afghanistan and Pakistan withdrew their names before the beginning of the World cup. The remaining 12 countries were:

  1. Bangladesh,
  2. Canada,
  3. Germany,
  4. India,
  5. Iran,
  6. Japan,
  7. Malaysia,
  8. Nepal,
  9. South Korea,
  10. Thailand,
  11. United Kingdom,
  12. West Indies.

In the year 2007, India won the World Cup by beating Iran. The host was Panvel. 16 countries participated in the 2007 Kabaddi World Cup:

  1. Afghanistan,
  2. Bangladesh,
  3. India,
  4. Iran,
  5. Italy,
  6. Japan,
  7. Kyrgyzstan,
  8. South Korea,
  9. Malaysia,
  10. Nepal,
  11. Srilanka,
  12. Thailand,
  13. Turkmenistan,
  14. Pakistan,
  15. United Kingdom,
  16. West Indies.

12 countries participated in the 3rd World Cup. In this world cup, Pakistan was removed for arising conflict between Pakistan and India. The competitive countries are:

  • Australia,
  • Bangladesh,
  • England,
  • India,
  • Iran,
  • Japan,
  • Kenya,
  • Poland,
  • South Korea,
  • Thailand,
  • Argentina,
  • United States.

In 2016 India again won the World cup by defeating Iran. Ahmedabad was the host of that championship.

In 2020, Pakistan won the World Cup by defeating India. The Punjab stadium and Lahore were the hosts of this world cup. In the 2020 Kabaddi World Cup participated:

  • Pakistan,
  • Canada,
  • England,
  • India,
  • Iran,
  • Sierra Leone,
  • Australia,
  • Germany,
  • Kenya,
  • Azerbaijan.

The Women Kabaddi World Cup

In 2012, the first time Kabaddi World Cup was organized for women. Bihar was the host of that World Cup. India won the championship beating Iran. 16 teams participated:

  1. Bangladesh,
  2. Canada,
  3. Taipei,
  4. India,
  5. Indonesia,
  6. Iran,
  7. Italy,
  8. Japan,
  9. Malaysia,
  10. Nepal,
  11. Mexico,
  12. Pakistan,
  13. Thailand,
  14. Turkmenistan,
  15. United States,
  16. Srilanka.

In 2013, the Women’s team won the World Cup by defeating New Zealand. India was the host country of that tournament. In 2014, history repeated the same.